

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20460

DEC 0 5 2016

MEMORANDUM

SUBJECT: Response to Office of Inspector General Report No. 16-P-0333, "Enhanced Controls

Needed to Prevent Further Abuse of Religious Compensatory Time," dated September 27,

2016

FROM: David A. Bloom, Deputy Chief Financial Officer

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

TO: Kevin Christensen, Assistant Inspector General for Audit

Office of the Inspector General

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the issues and recommendations in the subject audit report. The following is the Office of the Chief Financial Officer's response to the unresolved recommendation #4.

The OCFO concurs with the findings and the recommendation issued to the OCFO in the subject final audit report, and proposes the corrective action as stated below.

Agreements

No.	Recommendation	High-Level Intended	Estimated Completion
		Corrective Action(s)	by Quarter and FY
4	Modify the EPA's payroll and time and attendance system to include the enhanced internal controls, preventing employees from accumulating Religious Compensatory Time hours inconsistent with revised policies and procedures.	Concur. The OCFO will coordinate with the Office of Administration and Resources Management and the Department of Interior's Interior Business Center, a shared service payroll provider, to implement necessary changes to the payroll system based on the revised Office of Human Resources policy. Once the requirements are defined, the OCFO will align the time and attendance system to interface with the modified payroll system.	Q4 FY 2018

If you have any questions regarding this response, please contact Nic Grzegozewski at 202-564-2292.

cc: Arthur Elkins

Donna Vizian

John Showman

Charles Sheehan

Howard Osborne

Lynnann Hitchens

Linda Gray

Stefan Silzer

Wesley Carpenter

Robert Hill

Quentin Jones

Jeanne Conklin

Richard Eyermann

Lisa Ayala

Meshell Jones-Peeler

Jeffrey Lagda

Eric Hanger

John Trefry

Sherri Anthony

Kevin Collins

Jean Bloom

Nicholas Grzegozewski

Brandon McDowell

Susan Lindenblad

Diane Kelty